Kaiju Maneki Neko!

Kaiju Maneki Neko!

The Mutant ‘Lucky Cat’ or ‘Maneki Neko’* used in the Kaiju Art above is part of a series from one of the most well respected Japanese art toy producers… RealxHead.
The cute mutant cyclops cats come in 2.5″ or 7″ versions and come in a variety of colors.
There are also a few special colorways out there too… if one was inclined to do a little hunting.

RealxHead is responsible for bringing us quite a few legendary vinyl series: Pop Soda, Mutant Head, Mutant Evil, Mutant Chaos, Bigaro, Lucky Cats, and many more!  The paint, design, and vinyl quality of the varied figures is really superior.

I am particularly fond of the Mutant Chaos Series myself.  The Chaos series has some of the most intriguing colorways and variants… plus the figure itself is just so bad-ass!

If you happen to be into painting customs, like myself,…the Chaos Mutants are really a blast to paint too!

You know I look good!

RealxHead’s humble rise to fame started with a lone figure in 2003 called the ‘Oni Head’. Founded by artist Mori Katsura, the visionary toy company continued producing outlandish series after series, without ever compromising quality.
RxH gave the growing legions of die-hard fans some of the most amazing designs in the vinyl scene to date. Today, RxH’s figures usually sell out very quickly and continue to have exceptionally high collectability.

The RxH Mini Lucky Cats would be a great way for any newbies out there to get into vinyl collecting.
Why?…because they are produced by a very reputable Japanese toy producer , tracking down all of the colorways is a lot of fun, they look and display great…and best of all...the little kitty’s can be picked up for about $10 all over the internets!

With so many great vinyl toy designers, both East and West, it can be challenging to produce even ONE memorable new figure that will maintain it’s collectability… and hold our interests. With 5 years+ in business and a remarkable amount of releases…RealxHead has yet to disappoint!

Happy hunting!

Pray for more RxH!

Hint: start here…lucky

*Wikipedia entry on the history of traditional Maneki Neko HERE!

10 Responses to “Kaiju Maneki Neko!”

  1. Hi, I love your site, the graphics is amazing.
    I just heard and saw in person that a few shops in china is producing so many mutant evil, mutant head which is fake. But you won’t be able to discriminate if that is real or fake when holding them on hand. I saw there are at least 50 pieces (unpainted blue) in a box. I will be visiting there again and may take some pictures so that everyone should be aware of buying fake stuff on ebay. The guy selling those vinyl said that they are producing the header card as well.

  2. Hey jpcolony,

    Thanks for the info!. Well, there have always been bootlegs going back to the original Bullmark kaiju, it was bound to happen. The early boots were usually much easier to spot. I imagine that the bootleggers are a lot better today and have the capacity to produce very good copies.

    As you know, bootleggers have been copying many different items throughout history,. The true collectors of a particular item, are almost always able to tell the fakes. RxH is known for it’s outstanding vinyl quality. To the aficionado’s, vinyl can usually tell it’s story, just by feel & smell alone. Plus ,without the original mold, there are bound to be small discrepancies. Still sucks for the people that get duped into buying a Mutant, only to find out it’s fake!
    I would love to see your pictures if you make the trip again! I sure would love to get one of these fakes. If you can pick up an extra, I’ll by it from you!
    Wow this is a long response! Thanks again for the info jpcolony…. I hope to post your pictures and do an article. You’ll get full credit!

  3. Hi, REdYOda

    Wao ! Thanks so much to hear from you. I love your feedback. And I just spot a few new posts on your blog. They are amazing ! The technique you used in the pics are eye ball catching.

    Ya r right, the smell and the hardness should tell if that is a bootleg or not. I had been seeing a lot of pushead and medicomtoy flooding in china. Gradually now those toys had been soaked into other countries thru the bay or Hong Kong. They are not bootlegs , but they are those products that the factory secretly produce without the consent of the owner. Medicom don’t have their factory, they hired another factory (top quality with great technique) to make their toys. But someone in the factory operate the production line at night and produce a few more. I had a chance seeing those in GuangZhou (a big city in china). And I was so shocked that those pushead is selling at 20USD. It is exactly the same as the real one coz it is a real one but the factory just produce a lot more than the company ordered. A friend of mine got the pushead companion 4 weeks ahead when it is released. And the box, package are exactly the same as the authentic one.

    And he now told me that making an exact rxh only require 3 days. He even told me that some even had been sold on the bay by someone who didn’t provide header card. I don’t know if this news is released by someone or not. But I think someone should had known that so a few of the rxh are flooding on the bay.

    I saw a few selling cheap on taobao.com (a shopping website in china). I contacted the seller and he even asked me which character I want ; he said he can find those for me. But once this underground news is spreaded recently, the posting on the taobao.com is gone. I believe it will popup later.

  4. I will be visiting china later, I will go to guangzhou again to find those pics for you.
    Actually a well known toy maker’s blog (MARUSAN) already mentioned that he found a lot of fake toys growing in guangzhou.
    If you look at some old post in his blog, u will see those pictures !!!

    OMG !

  5. Thanks again jpcolony!

    Yes, I’ve heard of many shady dealings going on at the toy factories in China, from the owners on down. It’s just too tempting for them to try and make a little extra money…can’t really blame them I guess, especially in China.

    You know what is really funny…there are some people that collect booltlegs!
    Especially some of the older Bullmark boots are very collectible.

    You have been a very good source of info as to what is going on behind the scenes in China. I hope you stay in touch!

    After you visit GuangZhou and take some photos… let’s do an article together!

  6. Hi, RedYODA !!
    I am expecting that. Let’s do an article on that after I collected enough photos all the way long to there. That will be fun. But I think I need to take the picture in a secret way; otherwise I can’t get out of that area in a safe manner 🙂

    ha

  7. Hey jpcolony!

    Please don’t get killed by the Chinese Toy Mafia!!!!

  8. […] Read a little more about RealxHead and Mutant Chaos in my Maneki Neko post. […]

  9. Don’t worry 🙂
    boss of marusan toy did that once before

  10. […] with the Cats… Some older Rxh Cat pics I took…bottom picture ( a slightly different version) was used for this site’s […]

Leave a Reply

