Archive for February 4, 2009

Kaiju Tripus!

Posted in Kaiju Art, Toy Reviews with tags , , , on February 4, 2009 by REdYOdA

Menacing Header!

Tripus has finally surfaced…and what a stunner!

Click any image for the larger version.

Max Toy Tripus- First Version

“From the ocean’s depths, this kaiju emerges to do battle with Captain Maxx! What will it take to defeat this tentacled sea mutant? No doubt a full out battle royale between kaiju Tripus, Alien Xam, and kaiju Eyezon versus our ultimate Hero!”

Sea Mutant

...and NO I wasn’t in Pirates of the Caribbean…I look far cooler than that guy!

The paint work is truly something to behold. Mark Nagata painted the prototype and the artists recreating his work in China are doing an incredible job. This toy actually had a fairly strong paint smell to it when I opened the sealed bag, though it dissipated quickly. I’m not so sure if this is done entirely with V-Color…if it is, I’m really impressed by the vibrant metallic colors they are able to achieve! After putting this up next to some of my own customs…I’m thinking I need to ramp up my metallic colors!

Backside…

Beautiful colors!

The vinyl quality…as is always the case with Max Toy sculpts…is top notch! Very cool packaging as well for this 10″ tall sea monster… complete with retro style header and backing card featuring Mark’s eye-catching artwork. On the flip-side of the backing card we are given a preview of some variants to come…

Glow Tripus?!?

I’ve known about this figure for months and must say it was well worth the wait. Mark and Max Toy just keep impressing…these vinyls may be produced in China, but imo are superior in paint and vinyl to many of the higher end Japanese vinyls I’ve inspected.

Great backing card art!

Tripus Attacks!

If this toy is any indication of the great sculpts to come from Max Toy…it looks like ’09 may be the best year yet!

Too bad no one has any money. 😉