A Gigantor Gigantor + The KOBE Project!

I got something big in the mail yesterday!…

Tetsujin T-28!

…and I had to share some pics! I’m really really excited by this guy…probably more so than I’ve been for just about any Japanese vinyl that I’ve ever come across!

Vintage usually gets me the most hysterical, but most of the time I can’t even afford those…the last time I was this elated was with a vintage Astro Mu!

Bigger isn’t always better by any means…but what better character vinyl to make REALLY BIG than Tetsujin T-28???

It’s BIG…

Gigantor!

It’s REALLY Big!…

T-28's Mug

It’s… GIGANTOR!!!

Help!

It’s the 2009 M1-Ichigo DX Giant Tetsujin T-28 ! (released in May ’09) and not only did M1-Go make this T-28 bigger…they did it flawlessly!

As soon as I pulled it out of the giant bag, I felt like a small kid pulling out one of the 9″ vinyls because of the size. The vinyl is quite thick but retains that perfect Japanese solid-yet springy and squeezable quality that the other high quality M1-Go vinyls share…same smell…same feel…exactly!

All of the joints and fittings are immaculate without any warping whatsoever…allowing for a great stance. He has joints at the shoulders, elbows, waist, and legs.

Shown with one of my  9″custom T-28’s…

2 T-28's

That’s 19″ and 3lbs of  pure Japanese vinyl in one big M1-Go bag!

Bagged M1-Go Giant T-28

I’ll just mention the paint and then enough gushing…well not really much to say really except again… sheer perfection! The same colorway as M1’s initial ’95 release of the 9″ blue with yellow eyes painted on blue vinyl.

T-28 is a simple paint job…but all of the lines are pretty exact…and the anime style eyes just could not be done better…period.

Another size comparison with the 10″ Gameldon…

T-28 & Gameldon!

T-28 Side view with Gameldon

I’ve always loved T-28…or Gigantor as I knew him…funny that I never call him that anymore. My favorite robot sculpt since I’ve been collecting has been the 1995 M1-Go version… so when I saw this for sale at Mark Nagata’s Max Toy …I actually knocked over the tea I was drinking with excitement!

Mark only brought 2 back with him from Japan and I thought it was SUPER cool of him to bring another to offer up for sale to collectors at a very fair price…much Toy Karma will come his way!…and  I believe some of mine just paid off 🙂

He shares the same excitement as I do over this toy!

T-28 Feet

If you are a fan of T-28 or M1-Go and  just happen to come across one of these in your searches…all I can say is that pictures really just don’t do it justice…my advise… buy it FAST!  It’s an instant classic!

Giant M1 T-28 and Max Toy Eyezon!

Someone always has to build a BIGGER ONE though…!

The M1 may be big but nowhere as bis as this year’s recently completed KOBE T-28 project!!!

KOBE Project Tetsujin T-28

Costing some 135,000,000 Yen (1.5 Million U.S. !) , 4 years of planning, and 60 feet tall…the KOBE T-28 finally took shape…

kobe

Kobe T-28

Kobe

Kobe

Constructed at a shopping mall in Kobe which also happens to be the home town of T-28’s creator Mitsuteru Yokoyama!

It’s hoped the new T-28 addition will bring more business…I know I would go out of my way for a photo-op!!!

Here’s some video about the project…

I want this on my roof…

T-28's giant head!


That’s all for now…I gotta go watch some vintage Tetsujin T-28 episodes!

T-28 Screenshot

10 Responses to “A Gigantor Gigantor + The KOBE Project!”

  1. Great grab Nate on the M1GO Tetsujin. Your lucky, because i saw this on Mark’s site for a week and was saving up to grab it myself. I was waiting for a final payment from someone on ebay to finally pick it up. When i check by the 7th day i saw it was sold out and a tear came down my eye, lol.

  2. Oh…sorry about that Anthony!!!

    I missed it there somehow…and I even remember seeing Mark’s T-28 blog post, but for some reason I missed the link! Days later I just happened onto the Max Toy site and there it was…triggering the spilled beverage incident 🙂

    I was surprised to find out it lasted a week on MT!!

    …must be the economy.

    If I see another around…I’ll be sure to let you know!

  3. […] (images via: Senkanburian, Fantastique Arts and Kaiju Art) […]

  4. […] (images via: Senkanburian, Fantastique Arts and Kaiju Art) […]

  5. […] (images via: Senkanburian, Fantastique Arts and Kaiju Art) […]

  6. […] (images via: Senkanburian, Fantastique Arts and Kaiju Art) […]

  7. […] (images via: Senkanburian, Fantastique Arts and Kaiju Art) […]

  8. I am the big fan of animated cartoons/anime comicbooks/manga and television series and films/movies Thanks! From:Wayne

Leave a Reply

